Eye on Education

IACLE Celebrates the Achievements of its 2022 Award Winners

Print this Article | Send to Colleague

IACLE Celebrates the Achievements of its 2022 Award Winners

Contact lens educators from three countries – India, the United States of America, and the United Kingdom – receives prestigious awards from the International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE) for their efforts in contact lens education.

IACLE has announced the winners of the 2022 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards to recognize and reward achievement in contact lens education, and the 2022 IACLE Travel Award that supports educators attending major international meetings. This year’s awards will be presented at events around the world.

Thanks to the generous sponsorship from CooperVision, three IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards will be presented, one for each of its three global regions. To receive their awards, winners will travel to the American Academy of Optometry in San Diego, USA (26-29 October) or the British Contact Lens Association’s Clinical Conference & Exhibition in Manchester, UK (9-11 June 2023).

The 2022 IACLE Contact Lens Educators of the Year are:

  • IACLE Americas Contact Lens Educator of the Year
    Dr Lindsay Sicks
    Illinois College of Optometry, Chicago, USA

  • IACLE Asia Pacific Contact Lens Educator of the Year
    Lavanya Kalikivayi
    Ahalia School of Optometry, Kerala, India

  • IACLE Europe/Africa – Middle East Contact Lens Educator of the Year
    Carole Maldonado-Codina
    University of Manchester, UK

Dr. Sicks commented on her award, "I am honored to be chosen as IACLE's 2022 Contact Lens Educator of the Year for the Americas. During the challenging pandemic times, IACLE has served as a sounding board and a resource for fresh ideas and perspectives on how we can deliver contact lens education to our students, no matter where in the world we teach."

"We are proud of our continuing partnership with IACLE to support these awards. Eye care professionals around the world are indebted to the talent, enthusiasm and experience of hundreds of contact lens educators. We congratulate the recipients of this year’s awards and thank them for their tireless efforts to inspire the next generation of professionals," said Karen Walsh, Director, Global Professional Affairs – 1 Day & FRP Brands for CooperVision.

This year, one IACLE Travel Award – funded by all IACLE’s industry sponsors – will be presented.

The 2022 IACLE Travel Award winner is Asif Iqbal from Sankara Nethralaya in Chennai, India, who says he is ‘extremely honored’.

IACLE President Professor Philip Morgan added, "We are excited to announce this year's Educator of the Year and Travel Awards. Receiving these accolades represents a great achievement for our winners. We are grateful to CooperVision and all IACLE sponsors for sponsoring these important awards once again."


Back to Eye on Education

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn