Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

MCA Canada awards $25,000 in scholarships

Print this Article | Send to Colleague

“As an association, we understand how important it is to attract new students to the mechanical contracting industry in order to meet the anticipated demand we will face in the coming years,” explained Jack Bavis, MCAC President. “This scholarship series is one way we can help students pursue their education in the field, and enter the workforce prepared and ready to take on the challenges of tomorrow.”

Since 2006, MCAC has awarded more than $35,000 in scholarships, with the 2018 year marking the most significant amount to date. The program expanded in large part due to several MCAC Associate Members stepping up to provide their own scholarship funding through the program. These members included Federated, Taco Comfort Solutions, Franke Kindred, OS&B, Bradford White Canada, Masco, Wolseley Canada, and Uponor. In addition, the broader Associate Membership of more than 100 members agreed to fund a single MCAC Associate scholarship.

As part of the program, scholarships are awarded to university, college and apprentice students studying in mechanical fields. As well, in conjunction with MCAC’s continued emphasis on women in construction, there are specific scholarships available for women studying in the mechanical field.

“We are very proud to see the growth of this scholarship series, and to recognize so many deserving students across Canada,” Bavis added. “Our hope is that this program will continue to grow, and that we can showcase our dynamic and exciting industry to students year-after-year. Education and ongoing training are so important to our industry and our membership, and this scholarship program helps to demonstrate that.”

The following students received scholarship funding through the Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series in 2018:

  • Carmen Bracho – McMaster University
  • Eva Bracho - McMaster University
  • Bryant Brokenshire – Wilfred Laurier University
  • Taylor Davies (pictured) – McGill University (MCAC Associates Scholarship)
  • Manuel Lemos – McMaster University
  • Erin Martin – SAIT
  • Kalum Neubeker - Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • Philip Reinders - McMaster University
  • Ty Stevens - Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • Angel-Lynn Tran – University of Winnipeg
  • Tennesy Unger – Saskatchewan Polytechnic

More information about the MCAC Richard McKeagan Scholarship Series, managed through MCAC’s Construction Education Council, is available at


Back to Exchanger

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn