AAPA Seaports Advisory

Port People: Jacksonville, Massport, The Northwest Seaport Alliance

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Eric Green is New JAXPORT CEO

The board of directors of the Jacksonville Port Authority on September 25 unanimously voted to hire longtime JAXPORT executive Eric Green as chief executive officer. He had been serving as interim CEO since the resignation in March of Brian Taylor. The decision followed a national executive search to fill the position.

Mr. Green joined JAXPORT in 2005. As senior director, government and external affairs, he spearheaded the successful effort to gain authorization and funding for the Jacksonville Harbor Deepening project.The project to take the federal shipping channel to 47 feet will begin construction in the next few months.

Prior to joining JAXPORT, Mr. Green served in numerous leadership roles for the City of Jacksonville, including deputy chief administrative officer. In this position, he managed several city departments and was instrumental in the successful development, passage and implementation of the $2 billion Better Jacksonville Plan.

A Jacksonville native, Mr. Green is a member of the board of directors of the JAX Chamber and the Florida Chamber of Commerce and an alumnus of both Leadership Jacksonville and Leadership Florida. He is active with youth activities at Bethel Baptist Institutional Church. He holds a BA degree in political science from Saint Andrews Presbyterian College in Laurinburg, NC.

Eric Green


Massport Board Elects Lew Evangelidis Chair

The Massachusetts Port Authority (Massport) Board unanimously elected Worcester County Sheriff Lew Evangelidis chair at its meeting on September 20. Mr. Evangelidis was appointed to the port authority board by Governor Charlie Baker in April 2015. As Massport chairman, he succeeds Worcester attorney Michael Angelini, whose term had ended.

"Sheriff Evangelidis is a dedicated public servant committed to the safety of the Commonwealth’s families and communities and we are pleased to see him assume this important role as Chairman of the Massport Board," said Governor Baker. "As Logan International Airport, Conley Terminal and Massport’s facilities in Worcester and Hanscom see record growth and success as economic engines for Massachusetts and the region, Sheriff Evangelidis’ extensive experience will continue to be a valuable contribution to their safety and security."

Mr. Evangelidis was elected Worcester County Sheriff in 2010. Earlier, he served as an assistant state prosecutor in Miami-Dade County (FL) and assistant district attorney in Suffolk County (MA). During his eight years as a member of in the Massachusetts State Legislature, from 2003 to 2011, he was a member of the House Committee on Public Safety. He also practiced law for more than 20 years after earning a bachelor’s degree from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and a JD from the Temple University School of Law in Philadelphia.

The seven-member, gubernatorially appointed board also includes Duane Jackson, Patricia Jacobs, John Nucci, Sean O’Brien, Secretary of Transportation Stephanie Pollack and Laura Sen. Members served seven-year terms and receive no compensation for their services.

Massport is a financially independent authority which owns and operates Boston Logan International Airport, the public container and cruise terminals in the Port of Boston, Hanscom Field, Worcester Regional Airport as well as real estate holdings and public parks in South Boston and East Boston.

Lew Evangelidis

Photo/Worcester County Sheriff’s Office

NW Seaports Alliance CEO John Wolfe receives 2017 Connie Award

John Wolfe, CEO of The Northwest Seaport Alliance, received the 2017 Connie Award presented by the Containerization & Intermodal Institute in Long Beach (CA) on September 19.

Mr. Wolfe has led the marine cargo operating partnership of the ports of Seattle and Tacoma since NWSA’s creation in August 2015. He also serves as chief executive officer of the Port of Tacoma and sits on the AAPA board of directors.

"This is an incredible honor for John and The Northwest Seaport Alliance," said Tom Albro, Port of Seattle commission president and co-chair of The Northwest Seaport Alliance. "As the two ports took a bold step to collectively come together two years ago, we were confident in putting John to lead an organization that would accomplish great things."

Connie recipients are recognized each year for "outstanding contributions to containerization and world trade and transportation sector and are acknowledged for their pioneering spirit in their careers, as well as for the positive example they establish for those who will be the future the industry."

Prior to his appointment, he served as the Port of Tacoma’s deputy executive director for five years. Earlier, he spent 10 years with Maersk Sealand/APM Terminals in Tacoma in various roles, including terminal operations manager. He is also a former director of operations, marine terminal general manager, and executive director of the Port of Olympia.

"John leads through hard work and a well-grounded vision. He is someone who is easy to trust and has the ability to see the big picture," said Dick Marzano, Port of Tacoma commission president and co-chair of the NWSA. "We can’t think of anyone more deserving of the Connie Award."

John G. Wolfe
Photo/Northwest Seaports Alliance


Back to AAPA Seaports Advisory

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn