AAPA Seaports Advisory

Port People: Belledune, Duluth, Seattle

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Denis Caron named CEO – Belledune Port Authority

Denis Caron took the helm on January 1 as president and chief executive officer of the Belledune Port Authority (BPA). He succeeds Raymond Doucett, who retired December 31 after 10 years in the position.

Mr. Caron comes to the port with more than 30 years of public service and community development experience. He has held many roles in government at municipal, provincial and federal levels, including deputy minister of local government and environment and more recently, deputy minister of economic development, with leadership responsibilities for the Regional Development Corporation; Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries, InvestNB; and the Provincial Jobs Board.

Mr. Caron holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the Université de Moncton.

Denis Caron
Photo/Belledune Port Authority

Duluth: Raukar Reappointed To 3rd Term on Port Authority Board

At its first meeting of 2016, the St. Louis County Board reappointed its longest serving commissioner, Steve Raukar, to the board of commissioners of the Duluth Seaway Port Authority board for a third term. Originally appointed in 1998, Mr. Raukar currently serves as port authority president.

"The port authority is a strategic link in domestic and global trade, fostering economic growth for all of northeastern Minnesota," said Mr. Raukar. "We are currently involved in a nearly $18 million dock redevelopment project that represents a crucial investment in regional job creation, expansion of import/export capacity and intermodal freight transport plus overall global competitiveness for our state."

Mr. Raukar has served on the St. Louis County Board since first being elected in 1988. He was recently elected chair for a fifth and final time during what will be his last year on the county board. He also chairs the St. Louis County Housing and Redevelopment Authority, Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency, St. Louis and Lake Counties Regional Railroad Authority, and the Northeast Waste Advisory Committee. In 2008, he was elected chair of the Minneapolis-Duluth/Superior Passenger Rail Alliance.    

The Duluth Seaway Port Authority board is comprised of seven members – two appointed by the governor, two by the St. Louis County Board and three by the Duluth City Council. Each appointment is for six years.

The other port authority officers are: Ray Klosowski, vice president; Rick Revoir, treasurer; Chris Dahlberg, assistant treasurer; and Norm Voorhees, secretary. Tony Sertich and Yvonne Prettner Solon are the remaining board members. 

Steve Raukar
Photo/Duluth Seaway Port Authority

Seattle Port Commission Welcomes New Member Felleman, Elects Officers

The Port of Seattle welcomed its newest commissioner, Fred Felleman, as he took the oath of office along with reelected Commissioner Courtney Gregoire at the January 12 meeting of the port commission.

Commissioner Felleman has spent the past 30 years working to conserve the Pacific Northwest’s marine environment through research, advocacy and photography. Since 1988, he has served as an environmental consultant to local and national marine conservation organizations, as well as to local and tribal governments. In that capacity, he was prominently involved in the establishment of the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary, the Neah Bay emergency response tug, the Cherry Point Aquatic Reserve, and the listing the Southern Resident killer whale population under the Endangered Species Act.

The commission officers for 2016 are: John Creighton, president; Tom Albro, vice president; Stephanie Bowman, secretary; and Courtney Gregoire, assistant secretary. Mr. Felleman is the designated commissioner-at-large.
According to a port press statement, the commission will remain focused this year on the expansion of Sea-Tac Airport, attracting opportunities for its cruise business, recapitalizing the North Pacific fishing fleet, making Terminal 5 ‘big ship ready’, continuing environmental efforts port-wide, and pursuing  job growth through the port’s new economic development department. 

Fred Felleman
Photo/Port of Seattle




Back to AAPA Seaports Advisory

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn