Eye on Education

Congratulations are in Order for Vision Science Librarians Special Interest Group

Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Congratulations are in Order for Vision Science Librarians Special Interest Group

The Medical Library Association (MLA) recognizes the accomplishment in collection development for the health sciences by awarding the Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences annually. This year’s notable honor has been awarded to the Association of Vision Science Librarians (AVSL) – for their work on the Whitelist of Vision Science Journals.

AVSL members are part of ASCO’s Vision Science Librarians Special Interest Group and vision science caucus members of MLA. The Whitelist of Vision Science Journals was created to provide researchers in optometry, ophthalmology and vision science a listing of non-predatory journals, curated by vision sciences librarians that can be used to publish works with confidence.

The current White List of Vision Science Journals are here.

The Whitelist working group is comprised of a group of international vision science librarians dedicated to maintaining and updating this very important resource.

Current AVSL Reviewers

  • Caroline Allen, University of Iowa, department of Ophthalmology and Visions Sciences
  • Louise Collins, Massachusetts Eye and Ear, Howe Library
  • Heather Edmonds, New England College of Optometry
  • Leslie Holland, Southern College of Optometry
  • Diane Jacobson & Michelle Schonken, Marshall B. Ketchum University, Southern California College of Optometry
  • Gale Oren, Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan
  • Marliese Thomas, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Elaine Wells, SUNY College of Optometry

Back to Eye on Education

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn