GGIA Newsletter
  Archive | | E-Store | Conferences & Events | Certifications | InFocus

2012 NRMCA Safety Contest Entry Forms Now Available

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The annual NRMCA Safety Contest is a safety performance and incentive/award program aimed to foster safe practices at ready mixed concrete plants across the nation. In November 2008, the NRMCA Safety Task Group updated the "Excellence in Safety Awards Program" to a 3-tier system and began basing the winning facilities off of the latest OSHA/Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Incident Rate available for the ready mixed concrete industry. Starting in 2009, only those plants with an incident rate below the national average receive awards. The latest BLS data (as of June 1, 2010) shows the ready mixed concrete industry with an incident rate of 5.2.

Using the model of the Olympic Games, the 3-tiers of "Excellence in Safety Awards" were designated as Gold, Silver and Bronze:
Gold – Incident rate equal to zero
Silver – Incident rate greater than zero and equal to or less than 2.6 (1/2 the industry average)
Bronze – Incident rate greater than 2.6 and less than 5.2

Over the past few years, the program has grown to become NRMCA’s most popular award recognition program. The NRMCA Safety Contest and NRMCA Safety Benchmarking Program entry forms were combined and computerized to enhance both programs. The data are analyzed and used to establish industry benchmarks for safe operations. Concrete Producer magazine cosponsors the NRMCA Safety Contest.

Click here to access a link to download a copy of the application form. The entry deadline is Monday, April 16. For more information, contact NRMCA's Gary Mullings at


Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Naylor, LLC
Naylor, LLC
900 Spring Street
Silver Spring, MD, 20910
Phone: 301-587-1400 Toll Free: 888-84 NRMCA (846-7622)