NRMCA e-news
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

NRMCA Senate Champion Leads Letter Opposing Increase in Minimum Truck Insurance

Print this Article | Send to Colleague

NRMCA Champion Senator Steve Daines (R-MT) spearheaded a letter to the Senate Commerce Committee urging the committee to reject an increase in minimum liability insurance for commercial motor vehicles (CMV) in a surface reauthorization. This letter was the result of work done by NRMCA, the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association and a broad coalition of transportation interests.

H.R. 2 is the Moving America Forward Act in which House Democratic leadership wrapped the INVEST Act. The House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee’s surface reauthorization included a provision increasing the minimum liability insurance for each CMV from $750,000 to $2 million. After H.R. 2 passed the House, NRMCA, NSSGA and others met with Senate offices expressing concerns about this and other provisions in the bill.

The letter was led by Sen. Daines and signed by Sens. Martha McSally (R-AZ), Mike Braun (R-IN), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Deb Fischer (R-NE) and David Perdue (R-GA). NRMCA applauds Sen. Daines’ efforts and extends our appreciation to him and each of the senators who supported this pro-business, pro-ready mixed concrete letter.

For more information, contact Andrew Tyrrell at


Back to NRMCA e-news

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn