CPA Public Affairs
July 2019

AB: Six-month carbon tax holiday

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Ottawa says the federal carbon tax will be imposed on Alberta starting January 1, 2019 after the Alberta government passed legislation to terminate the provincial carbon tax.

As with the federal carbon tax in Saskatchewan, Ontario, Manitoba and New Brunswick, 90 per cent of the money collected will be returned to Alberta taxpayers in the form of rebates. No other information on the program for Albertans was released.

Alberta Premier Jason Kenney won the provincial election in April on a promise to kill the carbon tax; he has stated that if Ottawa imposes its fee, Alberta will join Saskatchewan and Ontario in fighting it in court.


Back to CPA Public Affairs

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn