CPA Public Affairs
June 2018

Celebrating CPA's 2018 Award Winners!

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The CPA salutes the winners of its 2018 awards, which recognize the leadership, commitment and dedication of individuals and organizations who are making a difference.
George Olah received the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment to excellence and many years of service to the propane industry. For more than three decades, George has been a pioneer in developing innovative programs, promoting the industry, volunteering on boards and committees, and training and educating thousands of workers.
James Callow, President of Budget Propane, is the recipient of the 2018 Health and Safety Award. James has created a strong culture of employee and fleet safety, which is reflected in Budget Propane's innovative programs, tools and policies to ensure on-going safety performance improvement.
UPS Canada has been recognized with an Innovation Award for their dedication to test alternative fuels to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions and costs. UPS Canada has not only replaced a significant percentage of their fleet with auto propane vehicles, they also actively promote the benefits of auto propane through presentations, promotional material and social media.
Otodata Wireless Data Network received an Innovation Award for their remote tank-level monitor that provides precise and accurate tank level data. This product -- the only one of its existence in Canada --was developed in direct response to the needs of the propane industry and is designed for harsh weather conditions.
Ralph Harvey is the CPA’s Propane Trainer of the Year. Recently retired from Dowler-Karn Ltd., Ralph has trained thousands of students in courses from retail to industrial, while also supporting customers through the many changes that have occurred in the industry.
There are two recipients of this year’s Student Scholarship Award, funded annually by the International Association of Young Gassers:  Emily Bestwick, of Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia, whose family have owned Burden Propane since 1990; and Jessica Beltz, of Landmark, Manitoba, whose father works for Federated Co-op Propane.
For more information, please view our media release Canadian Propane Association Celebrates 2018 Award Winners. For information on how to submit a nomination, visit our awards webpage.

Back to CPA Public Affairs

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn