Lifeline Weekly
Archive | Follow Us: Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

Meet Your New CMP Governance Commission Appointees!

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The newly formed Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) Governance Commission is the governing body of the CMP program. Previously known as the CMP Board, the commission is comprised of CMPs who represent all sectors of the CMP community, including association, government, independent and incentive planners, industry suppliers, destination professionals, catering professionals and meeting management educators. 

The Convention Industry Council relies on seasoned CMPs to govern the CMP program and ensure it remains current to the requirements necessary to be successful in the meeting management profession. Nominations for this new governing structure were open in January and February to all interested CMPs. A nominating committee composed of past and present CIC Board and CMP Board Chairs, reviewed and evaluated all applications and interviewed finalists. "The number of CMPs who volunteered to serve on the Governance Commission, in the first year of an open nominations process, is incredible," said Karen Kotowski, CEO of CIC. "The interest is further proof that we have a CMP community that is devoted to the future of the CMP credential and the future of our profession." 

The following individuals were elected to serve on the 2015 CMP Governance Commission: 

Joanne H. Joham, CMP, CMM 
Regional Director North America
International Congress and Convention Association 

Vice Chair
Janet Sperstad, CMP
Program Director
Madison Area Technical College

Immediate Past Chair
Melody Kebe, CMP, CGMP
Network Services Directorate
Defense Information Systems Agency 

Michelle Bartolone, CMP-HC
Meeting Sites Pro, Inc.

Cathy Breden, CAE, CMP
Chief Operations Officer
International Association of Exhibitions and Events

Agnes Canonica, CMP, CMM
General Manager Americas
MD Events

Amanda Cecil, PhD, CMP
Associate Professor and Program Director
Indiana University

Barbara Connell, CAE, CMP
Chief Operating Officer
American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

Matthew J. DiSalvo, CMP
Chief Sales Officer
SER Exposition Services

Aleka Garcia, CMP, CMM
Director, Strategic Meeting Management
Pacific Communications

Amy Philips Hanley, CMP
Senior Director, Meetings and Exhibits
American College of OB/GYN

Verena Jandak, CMP
Marketing Manager, U.S., Canada, Australia, India
Vienna Convention Bureau

Leslie Jones, CMP
Chief Operating Officer
National Association for Catering and Events

Steven Lorenz, CMP, HMCC
Strategic Account Manager
Meetings & Incentives Worldwide, Inc.

For more information on the CMP Governance Commission, visit the CIC website.

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

The Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) is a
program of the Convention Industry Council

Convention Industry Council
700 N. Fairfax Street, Suite 510
Alexandria, VA, USA, 22314
Tel: 571-527-3116
©2020, Convention Industry Council. All rights reserved.
Published by Naylor, LLC in association with the Convention Industry Council