Canadian Municipal Water eBulletin
Archive/Subscribe |  
July 23, 2015

2015 Water's Next Awards Winners

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The winners of the 2015 Water's Next awards were announced June 25 at a gala dinner hosted at the Westin Bayshore Hotel in Vancouver, British Columbia. Water’s Next, a national awards program produced by Water Canada magazine, honours the achievements and ideas of individuals and companies that successfully work to change water in Canada.

"Water Canada started Water’s Next as a way to celebrate the thriving national water community and showcase Canada’s water leaders, champions, and innovations," said Rachel Phan, Editor of Water Canada. "These eight Water’s Next winners have worked tirelessly to make safe, healthy water resources a priority in Canada."

The Water’s Next selection committee, composed of 16 experienced professionals from across Canada’s water sector, was tasked with narrowing a crowded field of nominees down to eight winners in two categories: People and Technology. The winners are:


Academia/NGO — Madjid Mohseni, University of British Columbia
Business — BLOOM Centre for Sustainability
Government — Barry Orr, City of London
Young Professional — Megan Kot, Centre for Water Resources Studies – Dalhousie University


Water Resources — Electronic Reporting Tool, WaterTrax
Conveyance — Model Predictive Pressure Control, Windsor Utilities Commission
Drinking Water — Pipe Wall Assessment Technology, Pure Technologies
Wastewater — PeCOD, Mantech
 Water's Next Winners
Rachel Phan of Water Canada and Garry Rossi of EnWin Utilities Ltd. present James
Griffiths of WaterTrax (centre) with award.the Water's Next 2015 Water Resources Technology 

Nominations for the 2016 Water’s Next Awards open October 30, 2015. For more information about the awards, visit

Back to Canadian Municipal Water eBulletin

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn