Canadian Water and Wastewater Association eBulletin

CWWA Climate Change Committee Update

Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The National Committee on Climate Change has been active this year on Collaboration, Representation, and Organization.  Once again we have had the opportunity to collaborate with a wide range of partners on initiatives of national interest including research prioritization for urban flooding under a changing climate, national flood resilience guidelines and standards, and responses to requests from federal agencies and departments. We have also represented the water and wastewater sector at various national working groups and collaboratives of professional associations and, of course, been actively organizing the Climate, Risk, and Resilience streams in the Window on Ottawa and National Water and Wastewater Conference events.

The committee and sub-committee members have met "virtually” a number of times this year already. During the two main committee meetings, we have taken the opportunity to welcome our newest members and share updates on current events and initiatives in the industry and our home organizations.  Some recent topics include:

  • Low Carbon Resilience,
  • Flood Risk Management and particular municipal approaches,
  • Development of national standards, • Flooding and drought events that have occurred in 2018 already, and
  • How to encourage homeowners to protect their own properties.


Our Members:

Chair: Hiran Sandanayake, City of Ottawa

Aaron Grill, Metro Vancouver
Bobby Pettigrew, J.L.Richards
Brad Cooper, City of Ottawa
Brent Burton, Metro Vancouver
Chris Rol, Insurance Bureau of Canada
Darryl Dormuth, Associated Engineering
Deanne Harper, City of St. John’s
Ehsan Roshani, NRC
Gordon Yasvinski, Health Canada
Guy Félio, Stantec
Indra Maharjan, Ontario Clean Water Agency
Jeff O’Driscoll, Associated Engineering
Jennifer Wu, JFSA
Jesse Hulsman, Municipality of East Hants
Jonas Roberts, Wood PLC / AMEC Foster Wheeler
Karina Richters, City of Windsor
Natalia Moudrak, Intact Centre on Climate Adaptation
Owen James, Associated Engineering
Paul Drca, City of Windsor
Paul Marsh, Water Environment Association of Ontario, AMEC
Roger Rempel, Risk Sciences International
Steve Conrad, Simon Fraser University (BCWWA)
Steven Chan, EPCOR
Susan Ancel, EPCOR
Victoria Kramkowski, City of Mississauga