Canadian Water and Wastewater Association eBulletin

CWWA members recognized at 2017 Waters Next Awards

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The Waters Next Awards are presented every year by Water Canada magazine in conjunction with the Canadian Water Summit.  Nominations are received for individual and companies that make significant contributions to the Canadian water and wastewater sector.  Selection is made by a panel of water/wastewater industry professionals.  

LYSTEK International wins ‘Company of the Year’:
Longtime CWWA member and supporter  Lystek International won big, twice, at the 2017 Waters Next Awards.   Lystek was nominated for the Wastewater Technology Award for their leadership in biosolids and organics management.  Lystek’s bid included support letters and testimonials from several very pleased customers for their innovative projects.  
Lystek was then considered alongside nominees in all the various categories and was selected as ‘Company of the Year’ for 2017.  The award was accepted by Kevin Litwiller, Director of Marketing and Business Development.  Headquartered in Cambridge, Ontario, Lystek is world renowned for their products and services.   

Ted Molyneux wins ‘Academic of the Year’
Former President of the BCWWA and long-serving Canadian representative to the AWWA, Ted Molyneux was recognized for his leadership with Reseau WaterNet. Reseau WaterNet is an academic network of university and government researchers cooperating on innovative solutions for smaller systems. Based in British Columbia, Ted is a senior water engineer with Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. 


The City of Guelph won the award for best Stormwater Technology/Project. The award was accepted by Emily Stahl, Manager of Technical Services for the City.


Robert Haller was nominated for the NGO "Person of the Year" and also the "Water Steward of the Year." As executive director of the CWWA, Robert was recognized for his engagement with all other water organizations in Canada and his efforts toward a more collaborative effort. This is the second year Robert was a finalist in the people awards...and the second time he left without the award. Robert congratulated this year’s winner Katrina Hartwig of Living Lakes Canada who took away both awards.    

To see all the award winners, go to:




Back to Canadian Water and Wastewater Association eBulletin

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn