CDA/ACB eBulletin
December 2019 / décembre 2019

CDA celebrates the industry

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Recognition of outstanding achievement and leadership is important to the Canadian Dam Association. This year’s awards banquet took place in Calgary on October 8 as part of the annual conference.

Life Members
Life Membership is granted to CDA members whose lifetime of dedication and achievement has contributed significantly to the dam industry in Canada.

Three individuals have been named as Life Members:

Charles Holder
Phuong Huu Nguyen
Andy Zielinski

For more information about these new Life Members, please visit the CDA website.

Inge Anderson Award of Merit – Norbert Morgenstern
This award is presented every two years and recognizes CDA members who have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge and practices related to dams in Canada.

Dr. Norbert Morgenstern was the winner of the 2018 Inge Anderson Award of Merit but was unable to attend the 2018 Awards ceremony. Following Dr. Morgenstern’s keynote address on Oct. 7 that kicked off the 2019 conference, CDA presented Dr. Morgenstern with his 2018 Inge Anderson Award so that he could get the public recognition that he so richly deserved.

For more information about Norbert Morgenstern’s contributions to the advancement related to dams in Canada, please visit the CDA website.

Peter Halliday Award for Service – Richard Gervais
This award recognizes CDA members for their valued contributions and outstanding commitment to the advancement of the Association.

For more information about Richard Gervais’ contributions to the Association, please visit the CDA website.

CDA Corporate Member Award – Alberta Environment and Parks
Each year the CDA recognizes member organizations that have distinguished themselves within the dam community.

For more information about Alberta Environment and Parks’ contributions to the industry, please visit the CDA website.

Published Paper
This award recognizes the contribution made by CDA members in authoring an outstanding article or technical paper related to dams. The award is offered annually to the author(s) of a selected publication made in Canada or internationally.

The 2019 winners were Valérie Michaud, Judson Kennedy, and Ryan Blanchard for their paper from the 2018 CDA conference, Using Magnetometric Resistivity to Identify Preferential Seepage Flow Paths at a Tailings Dam.

For more information about this paper, please visit the CDA website.

CDA Scholarships
The CDA offers two scholarships annually to full-time post-graduate students attending a Canadian university or college whose program of study focuses on dam safety and/or the management of dams. The Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship, valued at $5000 is awarded to the top applicant and the CDA Research Scholarship of $2500 is awarded to the runner up. Candidates are evaluated on the relevance of their research work and the potential for the advancement of knowledge, leadership and community involvement, and academic excellence.

CDA Gary Salmon Memorial Scholarship
Lamine Boumaiza of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

CDA Research Scholarship
Nicole Winstanley of the University of Alberta

To read more about the 2019 scholarship winners’ accomplishments, please see the Fall 2019 issue of the CDA Bulletin magazine.

The organizing committee encouraged Young Professionals and students to submit posters.

This year’s first prize went to Spencer Roberton for his poster Glenmore Dam South East Dyke Inundation Study. Second place was awarded to Lucy Chen for her poster How to Not Build a Dam.

Awards of Recognition – ICOLD 2019
In 2019, for only the third time Canada hosted the world by presenting the International Commission on Large Dams (ICOLD) annual meeting and symposium. While it was a country- and industry-wide effort to host the event, CDA recognized five organizations and seven individuals in Calgary at the awards banquet on October 8 who provided critical leadership that led to the success of ICOLD 2019.

These organizations and individuals provided ongoing time and expertise starting in 2015 – four years ahead of the event. Their time and effort paid off as the conference saw more than 1,400 delegates from 72 countries; 300 papers and nearly 200 presentations, Young Professional sessions and technical tours. There were also social events and a companions’ program.

Klohn Crippen Berger
Ontario Power Generation

Tony Bennett, Ontario Power Generation
Johanne Bibeau, AECOM
Gilles Bourgeois, WSP
Harvey McLeod, Klohn Crippen Berger
Leila Ouahit, WSP & TetraTech
Jean-Pierre Tournier, Hydro-Québec

Special recognition was also made of the contributions provided to the Steering Committee by its coordinator, Clare Raska.


Back to CDA/ACB eBulletin