CDA/ACB Gazette
June 2019 / juin 2019

2019 CDA Awards - Call for Nominations

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The CDA recognizes and encourages outstanding performance in the Canadian dam industry by presenting a number of awards every year. The awards recognize individuals’ achievement and services, as well as corporate contributions to the dam industry. The 2019 awards will be presented at the annual CDA Awards Banquet in Calgary on October 8.

Nominations are open for the following awards:

Peter Halliday Award for Service
This award recognizes CDA members who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to CDA and have made valued contributions to the advancement of the Association.

2018 Winner – Terry Oswell, BC Hydro

Published Paper Award
This award is offered to the author(s) who prepares and publishes an outstanding article or technical paper on dam-related issues in Canada. It can be from any published source or conference.

2018 Winner - Paul Knox, Andrew Cornett, Mitchel Provan, John Menniger, Rick Lux and Syed Abbas - Assessment of Debris Issues Impacting Design of a Flood Diversion Project in a Large Scale Physical Model

Corporate Award
This award recognizes CDA Corporate Members, including companies, organizations, government agencies and other entities, whose overall contributions to dam industry merit recognition.

2018 Winner – Hydro Quebec

How do I nominate an individual or an organization?
Nominators should provide as much detail as possible on the nominee to allow assessment by the awards committee. Nomination documents may be submitted to the Chair of the Honours & Awards Committee by email at or by regular mail to:

Canadian Dam Association, 3-1750 The Queensway, Suite 1111, Toronto, Ontario, M9C 5H5.

What’s the deadline for submitting a nomination?
The deadline for submitting nominations is July 15, 2019.

Need more information?
For more information about the awards please visit the CDA website.


Back to CDA/ACB Gazette