Georgia Burn Ban Information You Need to Know

Print this Article | Send to Colleague

The annual GA Environmental Protection Division summer ban on outdoor burning began on May 1 and is in effect until September 1. The restrictions apply to 54 Georgia counties, mostly in the northern half of the state. In addition, prescribed and silviculture burning are prohibited in 19 of those counties. To accommodate Troup County residents’ needs for tornado-damage cleanup, the GEPD has extended the traditional beginning of its summer burn ban until July 1.
A map showing affected counties and more details about the restrictions can be found at
As a reminder, the use of Georgia’s Timber Harvest Notification system becomes mandatory for counties requiring timber harvest notifications on July 1, 2023. To learn more or to sign up, visit Direct questions to or call us at 478-751-3485.

Back to CountyLine