AAPA Seaports Advisory

Port People: Long Beach, Saint John

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Federal Maritime Commissioner Cordero Named Port of Long Beach CEO

Mario Cordero
Photo/Federal Maritime Commission

The Long Beach Board of Harbor Commissioners voted at a meeting on April 14 to name Mario Cordero, a former chairman and current member of the Federal Maritime Commission (FMC), executive director of the Port of Long Beach. Mr. Cordero, a Long Beach resident and attorney, served previously as president and as a longtime member of the Long Beach Board of Harbor Commissioners.

"Mario not only has a deep understanding of the maritime industry from his leadership of the Federal Maritime Commission, but his service as a member of the Long Beach Harbor Commission gives him extensive knowledge of the needs of our carriers, terminal operators, cargo owners, and other trade partners," said Harbor Commission President Lori Ann Guzmán. "Mario approaches challenges from a bipartisan, collaborative perspective and as we seek to keep our port thriving, his combination of national and local experience is well-suited to carry us into the future."

Mr. Cordero was appointed to the FMC in 2011 by President Obama to a term set to expire in June 2019.  He served as FMC chairman from April 2013 until January 2017.

As a Long Beach Harbor Commissioner from 2003 to 2011, Mr. Cordero helped spearhead the port’s Green Port Policy. He served as harbor commission president from 2007 to 2008.  During that time, he also worked actively with AAPA’s Latin American delegation.

Mr. Cordero has practiced law for more than 30 years and has taught political science at Long Beach City College. He earned a BS in Political Science from California State University, Long Beach, and a law degree from the University of Santa Clara.

Mr.  Cordero is expected to join the port in Many. He will succeed Duane Kenagy, who has served as interim executive director since late 2016.

Saint John: Allen Bodechon Appointed to Port Authority Board

Allen Bodechon
Photo/Port Saint John

Allen Bodechon was recently appointed to a three-year term on the board of directors of Port Saint John by the provincial government of New Brunswick.

Mr. Bodechon has more than 36 years of law enforcement experience at all levels of government and is the recipient of numerous professional awards and recognitions including the Order of Merit for the Police Forces—Officer Level. His experience also extends to public and non-government organization boards.  

 "We are pleased to welcome Allen to our Board of Directors," said Port Authority Chair Philip Brewer. "Allen’s distinguished career in law enforcement, his experience with communities, Boards and government provide a skill set that will be very welcomed by members of our board."

Saint John is one of 18 port authorities established under the Canada Marine Act. The port authority board consists of seven members, including one representative each of the federal, provincial and municipal governments and four appointed by the federal government to represent port users.

The other board members are Vice Chair Kathy Craig, Lisa Keenan, Melanie Bell Hughes, Glenn Cooke, and Donna Gates.

Port Saint John is Canada’s third largest port by tonnage and has a diverse business base, including dry and liquid bulk, break bulk, containers, and cruise.


Back to AAPA Seaports Advisory

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn