AAPA Seaports Advisory

Port People: Florida, Georgia, Vancouver (BC)

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Niki McKinnell Joins Florida Ports Council as Vice President of Public Affairs

The Florida Ports Council (FPC) has named Niki McKinnell to replace Jennifer Krell Davis as vice president of public affairs.

The FPC is a nonprofit corporation that serves as the professional association for Florida’s 15 public seaports and their management.

Ms. McKinnell comes to the ports council from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), where she managed marketing programs and grants to increase driver safety on Florida's roadways.

Earlier, she served as chief marketing officer at the Florida Department of Children and Families, creating nationally recognized campaigns to protect Florida's most vulnerable citizens. Previously, she was media and marketing manager at the Florida Department of Education, communications manager at the Florida Dental Association, and a spokesperson at the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.

She received a bachelor's degree in public relations from the University of Florida and lives in Tallahassee with her two daughters.

"McKinnell’s background and experience will be critical in our outreach to the global business community about the immense opportunities regarding Florida’s 15 public seaports, as well as educating Florida’s leadership and public about the significant economic benefits ports bring," said Doug Wheeler, the FPA’s president and CEO.

Niki McKinnell
Photo/Florida Ports Council

Georgia Ports: Jimmy Allgood to Lead GPA Board

The board of directors of the Georgia Ports Authority elected James L. Allgood as chairman during its regularly scheduled meeting on May 23. Mr. Allgood, the GPA’s vice chairman for the past two years, will assume his new responsibilities July 1.

Mr. Allgood is chairman of the board and founder of Allgood Pest Solutions. He served 20 years as chairman of the Structural Pest Control Commission and is past president of the Georgia Pest Control Association. He also chaired the Dublin-Laurens County Development Authority. He is a graduate of the University of Georgia.

At the same meeting, the board elected Ken Cronan vice chairman and Secretary/Treasurer A.J. "Joe" Hopkins secretary-treasurer.  Mr. Cronan is co-owner and president of Gainesville Salvage and Disposal and the owner as well of Gainesville Waste and Recycling.  Mr. Hopkins is director of Hopkins-Gowen Oil Company, president of Toledo Manufacturing Company, director of Southeastern Bank, and a partner in Gowen Timber Company.

The GPA board consists of 13 directors, each appointed by the governor from the state at large to staggered terms of four years.

"I'm excited to have this new opportunity to serve the state," said Mr. Allgood. "With our harbor deepening under way, the infrastructure investments we're making on terminal, and the improvements to road and rail connections we're building in Georgia, there is a wealth of opportunity ahead of us." 

James L. Allgood
Photo/Georgia Ports Authority

Philip Hochstein Appointed to Vancouver Fraser Port Authority Board

Todd Stone, minister of transportation for the Province of British Columbia, has appointed Mr. Philip Hochstein to the board of directors of the Vancouver Fraser Port Authority for a three-year term, effective May 18, 2016.

Mr. Hochstein is president of the Independent Contractors and Businesses Association of B.C. and sits on the provincial government’s Roundtable on the Economy and the Environment. Previously he served as chair of the Coalition of BC Businesses and on the boards of the SHARE Family and Community Services Society, the Consumer Protection Agency and the British Columbia Construction Association’s benefit plan. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Victoria and an honors degree in history from McGill University.

The port authority board of 11 directors consists of eight federal government appointees, seven of whom are recommended by port users; one appointee for the province of British Columbia; one appointee for the Prairie provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba; and one appointee for the 16 municipalities within the port authority’s jurisdiction. Members are eligible for reappointment to two additional terms, or a maximum of nine consecutive years.

Philip Hochstein
Photo/Vancouver Fraser Port Authority






Back to AAPA Seaports Advisory

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn