IIE Home | Membership | Publications | Open Doors | Contact Us
August 17, 2015 Special IIE.Interactive
Connect with Usfacebook Instagram Twitter You Tube Archives

Nomination deadline: October 16, 2015 | Download Nomination Form

The Institute of International Education (IIE) is delighted to invite you to nominate your program for the 2016 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education. 

IIE created these awards to honor outstanding initiatives in international higher education by IIENetwork member universities and colleges. IIE's Heiskell Awards showcase the most innovative and successful models for internationalization of campuses, study abroad, and international exchange partnerships in practice today. There are four award categories for 2016.


Category 1: Internationalizing the Campus  
Advancing curriculum development, fostering international opportunities and creatively integrating international students into university life.

Category 2: Study Abroad
Providing innovative programs and services to make study abroad accessible to a broader student population. Special emphasis on specific efforts that led to a strong increase in study abroad participation.

Category 3: Best Practices in International Partnerships
Recognizing strategic, comprehensive and innovative international partnership efforts with emphasis on connecting globally through research opportunities. 

Category 4: Internationalizing the HBCU or Community College Campus  
Creating innovative programs and services, including study abroad, to make international opportunities accessible to HBCU or community college students. (IIE & AACC members are eligible to apply.)

Note: With the exception of Category 1, please submit nominations which focus on particular programs or initiatives, rather than including all campus programs in one nomination. 

  • Only IIENetwork member institutions are eligible to apply. (Note: AACC members are also eligible to apply for the Internationalizing the Community College category. For partnership categories, at least one of the partnering institutions must be an IIENetwork member). 
  • Nominations will be reviewed by the internal and external Heiskell Award Selection Committees in October and November. Winners will be contacted in December 2015.
  • Winning programs will be recognized at IIE’s Best Practices Conference at the University of California, Davis on March 11, 2016. All winning programs will be showcased on the IIENetwork website and in the IIENetworker magazine. Winners will be presented with an award certificate and a $1,000 prize (shared by winning institutions in the partnership category).


Deadline: October 16, 2015
  • Download the application form and email it, along with a letter of support from your institution’s President or Chief Academic Officer, to HeiskellAwards@iie.org by October 16.
  • If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader XI (11.0.03), it is recommended you download this free program before completing the form. 
  • Each time content is added to the application, please use the Save As option to save your application.  


For more details on the Andrew Heiskell Awards, and to download the application, please visit: www.iie.org/Who-We-Are/IIENetwork-Membership/Heiskell-Awards 

We look forward to receiving your nominations and to learning about the creative ways that you and your campuses are responding to the challenges of preparing the next generation to think and work on a global basis. 

If you have any questions about nominating for the Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education, please send an e-mail to HeiskellAwards@iie.org.
Share this articleShare on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
ELS Language Centers California State University, Northridge ETS
www.iie.org/iienetwork • Member website of the Institute of International Education
© 2020 Institute of International Education. All rights reserved.

We would appreciate your comments or suggestions. Your email will be kept private and confidential.