IIE. Interactive Newsletter
Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
Last Chance to Apply for the 2017 IIE Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education
Nomination Deadline: October 14, 2016 | Download Nomination Form | Contact

The Institute of International Education (IIE) is delighted to invite you to nominate your program for the 2017 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education. IIE created these awards to honor outstanding initiatives in international higher education by IIENetwork member universities and colleges. IIE's Heiskell Awards showcase the most innovative and successful models for internationalization of campuses, study abroad, and international exchange partnerships in practice today. There are four award categories for 2017.


Category 1: Internationalizing the Campus
Advancing curriculum development, fostering international opportunities and creatively integrating international students into university life.

Category 2: Study Abroad
Providing innovative programs and services to make study abroad accessible to a broader student population. Special emphasis on specific efforts that led to a strong increase in study abroad participation.

Category 3: International Partnerships: New Models for Research Collaborations
Recognizing strategic, comprehensive and innovative international partnership efforts with emphasis on connecting globally through research opportunities.

Category 4: Internationalizing Minority Serving Institutions
Creating innovative programs and services, including study abroad, to make international opportunities accessible to MSI students.

Note: With the exception of Category 1, please submit nominations which focus on particular programs or initiatives, rather than including all campus programs in one nomination.

Only IIENetwork member institutions are eligible to apply (Note: For partnership category, at least one of the
partnering institutions must be an IIENetwork member).

Nominations will be reviewed by the internal and external Heiskell Award Selection Committees in October and
November. Winners will be contacted in December 2016.

Winning programs will be recognized at IIE’s Best Practices Conference in Miami, FL on March 14, 2017. All winning
programs will be showcased on the IIENetwork website and in the IIENetworker magazine. Winners will be
presented with an award certificate and a $1,000 prize (shared by winning institutions in the partnership category).


Deadline: October 14, 2016

Download the application form and email it, along with a letter of support from your institution’s President or
Chief Academic Officer, to HeiskellAwards@iie.org by October 14.
If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader DC, it is recommended you download this free program before
completing the form.
Each time content is added to the application, please use the Save As option to save your application.


For more details on the Andrew Heiskell Awards, and to download the application, please visit: www.iie.org/Who-We-Are/IIENetwork-Membership/Heiskell-Awards.

We look forward to receiving your nominations and to learning about the creative ways that you and your campuses are responding to the challenges of preparing the next generation to think and work on a global basis.



We would appreciate your comments or suggestions.
Your email will be kept private and confidential.