Board and Council Updates

Eligibility and Education Council

The following people have been appointed to the groups named below:

The council has approved the membership of the following (sub)committees for 2014–2015:

Dr. Arnold Shapiro has been appointed as the accreditation actuary at the University of Manitoba, effective January 31, 2015.

The council has approved the mandate of the CIA Education Syllabus Committee: "To ensure that the Institute remains at the forefront of actuarial practice and science by developing, maintaining, and continually enhancing the CIA’s education syllabus for Associate- and Fellow-level qualification and other general educational requirements. To source, evaluate, and recommend solutions for how the requisite content should be delivered and validated."

The Task Force on Canadian Eligibility Requirements has been disbanded with thanks.

The Graduate Scholarship Program Selection Committee has been created, and the membership approved: Sheldon Lin (member, Academic Relations Committee), Gary Parker and David Scollnick (external members, full-time professors in a Canadian university), and one member of the EEC or from the Board to be confirmed.

The CIA Candidate Code of Conduct Task Force, the Task Force to review the SOA General Insurance Track Syllabus, and the Task Force on Mentoring have been disbanded with thanks.

Practice Council

The following people have been appointed to the committees named below:

Timothy McGorman and Martin Gélinas have resigned from the Committee on Pension Plan Financial Reporting.

The Modelling Task Force has been created with the mandate to produce an educational note to accompany the pending modelling standards. Its members are: Bob Howard (Chair), Michelle Lindo, Pierre Laurin, Mike Palmer, Simon Nelson, and Michelle John.

Canadian Institute of Actuaries/Institut canadien des actuaires