CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA
Past Issues |  
December 2016

December Updates

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Member Services Council

The following people have been appointed to the (sub)committees named below:

  • Research committee: Lisa Miolo (Vice-chair), effective retroactively to January 1, 2016;
    • Individual Life Experience Subcommittee: Vera Ljucovic (Vice-chair), effective September 13, 2017;
    • Annuitant Experience Subcommittee: Nicolas Genois, effective September 13, 2016;
    • Academic Research Subcommittee: Sheldon Lin, Jeffrey Pai, and Taehan Bae, effective October 20, 2016;
  • Editorial Committee: Scott McGaire (Chair), effective September 1, 2016;
  • Emerging Practice committee: Claude Ferguson (Chair), Joshua Bue, Jacques Demers, David Landriault, Denis Latulippe, Zhouliang (Joel) Li, and Martin Roy, effective October 13, 2016; and
  • Oversight Committee on the work of the work of theRetraite Québec Working Group on Transfer Values: Bernard Morency and Charles Lemieux, effective September 1, 2016.

The MSC has approved the creation of the Oversight Committee on the work of the Retraite Québec Working Group on transfer values, effective from September 1, 2016 to October 1, 2017, with the following mandate:

  • Oversee the evolution of the Retraite Québec Working Group work on transfer values and determine whether the Canadian Institute of Actuaries can approve its final report to be presented to the Ministère du travail and the Comité consultatif du travail et de la main d’oeuvre (CCTM); and
  • Receive and analyze a detailed report of each meeting of the working group from Joseph Gabriel, who coordinates the participation of the CIA in the working group.

The following people have completed their term or have resigned from the (sub)committees named below, and leave with thanks:

  • Editorial Committee: Walton Achoy (Chair), effective September 1, 2016; and
  • Annuitant Experience Subcommittee: Khurram Tehseen, effective September 13, 2016.

Ben Miclette was appointed MSC liaison to the Research Committee, replacing Peter Douglas, effective September 29, 2016.

The Group Insurance Committee, the Task Force on Mortality Improvement, and the Task Force on Pension Funding and Transfer Values have been disbanded, effective November 10, 2016, with thanks.


Back to CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn