CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA
Past Issues |  
June 2014

June's Updates

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Member Services Council

The following people have been appointed to the (sub)committees named below:

  • Research: Matt Poetker, Peter Snyder, and Julie Viinikka, effective June 3, April 30, and May 22 respectively;
  • Research Committee subcommittees:
    • Segregated Fund Experience: Peter Snyder (Chair), effective April 30, and Chris Moorley (Vice-chair), effective April 14;
    • Individual Living Benefits Experience: Nicolas Rochon and Chris Piper, effective April 21; and
    • Group Annuitant Mortality Experience: André Veilleux, effective May 8; and
  • Climate Change and Sustainability: Karen Lockridge (Chair), William Brath, Denise Cheung, Jacqueline Friedland, Yves Guérard, Frank Grossman, Nicolas Hsu, Sam Lee, Caterina Lindman, Carol Moellers, James Murta, Kayee Ng, Kamran Quavi, and Betty-Jo Walke, effective May 30.

The MSC has approved the following revised mandate of the New Members Committee:

The mandate of the New Members Committee is to get new members of the CIA (Associates and Fellows) involved in the Institute at an early stage and promote volunteerism and personal development.The committee will accomplish this by developing educational and networking opportunities specifically targeted at new Fellows and new Associates of the CIA, as well as helping to support the initiatives of the Committee for Volunteer Initiatives and any other CIA committees that target new CIA members.

It has also approved the following revised mandate of the Climate Change and Sustainability Committee:

The purpose of the Climate Change and Sustainability Committee is to raise awareness of climate change and environmental sustainability, and support the Canadian actuarial profession in playing a meaningful role in addressing these global challenges, both in providing advice to clients and providing input on public policy.Relevant areas of interest include (but are not limited to) climate change, natural resource depletion, water and air pollution, land management, agriculture, energy, infrastructure, and waste management.

The committee’s primary focus is on communication, dialogue, and education (as opposed to original research). Key objectives of the committee are to:

  • Keep CIA members informed of relevant developments on climate change and sustainability;
  • Promote collaborative dialogue between the CIA and other organizations on key issues;
  • Identify, evaluate, and disseminate the related implications for pricing, risk management, and other areas of actuarial practice;
  • Encourage discussion of related public policy issues and, when appropriate, draft CIA submissions;
  • Support the inclusion of climate change and sustainability in professional development programs for actuaries; and
  • Raise the profile of the profession and promote its skill set with respect to these issues.

For information only:

  • Segregated Fund Experience Subcommittee: Leonard Pressey completed his mandate as chair, effective April 30, and Shawn Harris resigned, effective April 14;
  • Individual Living Benefits Experience Subcommittee: Frédéric Jacques and Martin Vézina both resigned, effective April 21;
  • Group Annuitant Experience Subcommittee: Mario Robitaille resigned as chair, effective May 8;
  • Op-Ed Committee: Don Tettmar resigned, effective May 21.

Back to CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn