CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA
Past Issues |  
February 2014

February's Updates

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague

Eligibility and Education Council

The following people have been appointed to the positions and committees named below:

  • Accreditation Actuary at the University of Western Ontario: Mary Millard, effective July 1, 2014.
  • CAS liaison to the Eligibility Committee: Virginia Prevosto.
  • Practice Education Course (PEC) Organizing Committee: Thomas Hinton (Chair), Steven Cheng, Wes Foerster, Bruce Langstroth, Haripaul Pannu, Jean-François Poitras, and Carole Vincent, effective January 1, 2014. Note: Carole Vincent is being approved as Co-chair (ILA/FIN-INV); Haripaul Pannu and Jean-Francois Poitras are being approved as Co-vice-chairs (RET).
  • PEC exam subcommittees:
  • ILA and FIN-INV: Wes Foerster (Co-Chair), Carole Vincent (Co-Chair), Alan Bates, Luc Bergeron, Melissa Bui, Ahwaz Chagani, Mark Edwards, Frédéric Jacques, Mark Jarvis, Jennie Leung, Alanna Rand, David Stalker, Si Xie, and Vikram Malik. Note: the new member being approved is Vikram Malik; Melissa Bui is on maternity leave.
  • Group Benefits: Bruce Langstroth (Chair), Michael Correa, Erin Crump, Bruno Gagnon, Lyna Gendron, Martin Laframboise, René Norena, Kim Palatnick, and Lucian Schulte. Note: Ken Chin and Linda Maillet resigned and leave with thanks; the new members being approved are Kim Palatnick and Lucian Schulte; Loretta Di Carois on maternity leave.
  • Retirement Benefits: Stephen Cheng (Chair), Haripaul Pannu (Co-vice-chair), Jean-François Poitras (Co-vice-chair), Mark Campbell, Murray Ferguson, Karen Kulchyski, Alexandre Larose, Katie McElwain, Don Tettmar, Ryan Wall, Henry Yuen, and Alexandru Zaharia. Note: Trevor Cartlidge, Corinne Escaravage, Bruno Legris, Bryan Merida, Michael Millns, and Shannon Tesluck resigned and leave with thanks; the new member being approved is Ryan Wall.

The CIA Candidate Code of Conduct Task Force has been created with Robert Stapleford as Chair, and Dave Dickson, Bruce Jones, and Alanna Rand as members, with the mandate to develop a candidate code of conduct for the CIA.

The EEC has approved the membership of the following subcommittees of the Committee on Continuing Education for 20132014, retroactive to December 1, 2013:

  • Enterprise Risk Management: Ashley Goorachurn (Chair), Hélène Baril, Pierre-Paul Renaud, and Jay Zhong. Note: the new member being approved is Pierre-Paul Renaud. Altaf Rahim resigned from the subcommittee, and leaves with thanks.
  • Reinsurance: Mayur Shah (Chair), Stephanie Banfield, Patrick Charbonneau, Amit Malhotra, Jessica Newman, Maria Semak, and Elena Stoyanova. Note: the new members being approved are Patrick Charbonneau, Amit Malhotra, and Elena Stoyanova.
  • Individual Life and Health Insurance: Jean-Pierre Cormier (Chair), Robert Bhatia, Emile Elefteriadis, and Peter Treichel. Note: the new members being approved are Robert Bhatia, Emile Elefteriadis, and Peter Treichel.
  • Corporate Life and Health: Joan Strothard (Chair), Boon Thye Ho, Bradley Wallis, and Esther Shuo Wang. Note: the new members being approved are Boon Thye Ho and Esther Shuo Wang.
  • Pension: June Smyth (Co-chair), Heather Dee Wolfe (Co-chair), Tulio Walles Mora, Charlene Moriarty, Jean-François Poitras, and Stephen Cheng. Note: no change.
  • Group Life and Health: Jeremy Bell (Chair), Isabelle Bouchard, Edward Tsu-Jen Kuo, and Louise Lessard. Note: no change.
  • Investments, effective January 28, 2014: Eric Fontaine (Chair), Christopher Brisebois, Stanley Kwok, Ivy Lee, Martin Leroux, Sheldon Liu, Harry Satanove, and Pavlo Tytarenko. Note: Patrick Chamberland, Tim Cavallin, and Ross Dunlop resigned from the Investment Subcommittee of the Committee on Continuing Education and leave with thanks; Eric Fontaine is being approved as the new Chair; the new member being approved is Stanley Kwok.

The CIA Exam 6 Canada Syllabus Committee has been created with Sophia Banduk and Stéphane McGee as co-chairs, and Sarah Chevalier, Jacqueline Friedland, Patricia Hladun, Alena Kharkavets, David Langlois, Seung-Won (Sam) Lee, Henry Lim, Justin Pursaga, Lydia Roy, Erika Schurr, Lleweilun Smith, Michel Trudeau, and Gang (Richard) Xu as members.

Practice Council

The following people have been appointed to the committees named below:

  • Pension Plan Financial Reporting: Simon Nelson, effective December 2, 2013, and Mark Mervyn, effective February 1, 2014;
  • Life Insurance and Financial Reporting: Stéphanie Fadous, Eric Lemay, and Louis Nault, effective March 2014;
  • Post-Employment Benefit Plans: Karen Dixon (Chair), effective December 12, 2013; and
  • Workers’ Compensation: Crispina Caballero (Vice-chair).

For information only:

Neil Duffy, Mario Robitaille, and Stéphane Santerre will be completing their terms on the Committee on Life Insurance Financial Reporting,effective March 2014.

Jeremy Bell has stepped down as Chair of the Committee on Post-Employment Benefit Plans, effective December 12, 2013.


Back to CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn