CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA
Past Issues |  
October 2013

October's Updates

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague


Steven Easson has been appointed Board liaison to the Joint Risk Management Section, effective immediately.

The Board has proposed the appointment of Michel Giguère as its representative on the board of the Actuarial Foundation of Canada, effective immediately, for a period of one year.

Marcia Gallos left the Member Services Council as of September 1, 2013, having completed more than three years as a member.

Practice Council

The following people have been appointed to the (sub)committees listed below:

  • Property and Casualty Financial Reporting (PCFRC): Nathalie Lavigne, effective September 25, 2013;
  • Pension Plan Financial Reporting (PPFRC): Manuel Monteiro (Chair), effective August 1, 2013, and Gus van Helden, effective September 1, 2013;
  • Life Insurance Financial Reporting (CLIFR): Michael Hayes, effective October 1, 2013;
  • CLIFR subcommittees:
  • Drafting—Julia Viinikka (Chair), Lesley Thomson, Wendy Yu, Martin Labelle, and Rebecca Rycroft;
  • Interest Rates CalibrationDavid Campbell, Sara Lang, Tracy Xing, Chong Zheng, Martin Labelle, André Veilleux, Brennan Kennedy, Nadine Gorsky, and Wally Bridel (Chair);
  • Fixed-Income CalibrationAlexis Gerbeau (Chair), Lynn Guo, Sara Lang, Martin Labelle, Brock McEwen, Ricardo Mitchell, Steven Prince, Jim Snell, Dean Stamp, Maxime Turgeon-Rhéaume, Tracy Xing, and Chong Zheng;
  • Prescribed ScenariosStephen Sullivan (Chair), Edward Gibson, Shahab Mostafavi, Saul Gercowsky, Simran Bhullar, Joan Strothard, Wally Bridel, Wes Foerster, Diana Pisanu, Sunny Oh, and Angela Jonkhans;
  • Equity Calibration—Alexis Gerbeau (Chair), Lynn Guo, Martin Labelle, Ricardo Mitchell, Christian-Marc Panneton, Steven Prince, Jim Snell, Linxin Zhang, and Chong Zheng; and
  • Mortality and Morbidity Improvements on A&S Business—Alison Begley, Emile Elefteriadis, Neil Duffy (Chair), and Michael Correa.
  • Standards of Practice Editing: Anne Vincent and François Vincent;
  • Risk Management and Capital Requirements (CRMCR): Guillaume Benoit, Patrick Douville, Jessi Gaulin, Pierre Laurin, Diana Pisanu, and Jay Zhong.

The Task Force on the Fair Market Value (FMV) of Life Insurance Policies for Ownership Transfer and Related Purposes has been disbanded with thanks, effective October 1, 2013.

For information only:

The following people have resigned from the committees named below:

  • CLIFR: Alison Begley;
  • CRMCR: Michel Dionne, Stephanie Greer, Mario Robitaille, and Julia Viinikka;
  • PPFRC: Dylan Moser; and
  • PCFRC: Andrea Sherry.

Back to CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn