CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA
Past Issues |  
September 2013

September's Updates

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague


The following people have been appointed to the councils/committees named below, effective July 1, 2013:

  • Eligibility and Education Council: Jacqueline Friedland (pictured) and Mercy Yan;
  • Member Services Council: Jean-Yves Rioux;
  • Practice Council: Daniel Doyle and Michel St-Germain;
  • International Relations: Jacqueline Friedland and Chris Townsend;
  • Governance (new committee): Chris Townsend (Chair), Robert Stapleford, Michel St-Germain, and Jacques Tremblay;
  • Human Resource, Finance, and Audit (new committee): John Dark (Chair), Simon Curtis, Daniel Doyle, Michel Giguère, and Joe Nunes;
  • Risk (new committee): Claude Ferguson (Chair), John Dark, Steve Easson, Sharon Giffen, and Jean-Yves Rioux;
  • 2014 Elections: Larry Miller (Chair), Stuart Wason, Kathy Thompson, Dennis Schettler, Heike Reck, Jean-François Poitras, and Claudette Cantin.

The memberships of the following councils and committees for 2013–2014 have been approved, effective July 1, 2013:

  • Eligibility and Education Council: Jason Vary (Chair), Angelita Graham (Vice-chair), Alana Farrell, Mathieu Boudreault, Thomas Hinton, Lynn Grenier-Lew, Rémi Villeneuve, Anne Vincent, Joel Cohen, and Bruno Gagnon. Note: Anne Vincent’s term expired on September 3, 2013.
  • Member Services Council: Marc-André Melançon (Chair), Marc Tardif (Vice-chair), Jason Alleyne, Marc-André Belzil, Claire Bilodeau, Nari Persad, Dave Dickson, Marcia Gallos, Frank Grossman, and Marie-Hélène Malenfant. Note: Cathy Shum-Adams, Julie Chambers, and Marcus Robertson have completed their terms.
  • Practice Council: Bruce Langstroth (Chair), Pierre Dionne (Vice-chair), Richard Larouche, Dale Mathews, Hélène Pouliot, Les Rehbeli, Faisal Siddiqi (new appointment, effective March 21, 2013), and Don Tettmar. Note: Alan Exley has completed his term, effective June 30, 2013.
  • International Relations: Micheline Dionne (Chair), James Doherty (Vice-chair), David Congram, Jacqueline Friedland, Michael Hale, Robert McKay, Geoffrey Melbourne, Catherine Robertson, Christopher Townsend, Stan Warawa, and Jacques Lafrance (ex officio). Note: Jacques Tremblay’s term ended on June 21, 2013, once he became President-elect.
  • Professional Conduct: Liam McFarlane (Chair), Douglas Brooks (Vice-chair), Richard Béliveau, François Boulanger, Stephen Butterfield, Dave Dickson, Luc Dionne, Stephen Eadie, Sym Gill (not enrolled in the CIA), Don Ireland, Ian Karp, Maryse Larouche, Claude Lockhead, Bonnie Lysyk (not enrolled in the CIA), Jean-Claude Primeau, and Simon Curtis (ex officio). Note: the terms of Wayne Berney, Luc Farmer, Danielle Lamarche, and Jim Christie (ex officio) ended on June 30, 2013.
  • Tribunal Panel: J. Edward Nixon (Chair), David Short (Vice-chair), Martin Brown, David Congram, Gilles Dufresne, Brian FitzGerald, Neville Henderson, Christopher (Kit) Moore, Daniel Murphy, James Paterson, Philip Pothier, Allan Shapira, William Solomon, Monique Tremblay, and Nancy Yake.

The Risk Management Committee, Committee on Finance, and Task Force on Policies have been disbanded with thanks.

Eligibility and Education Council

The following people have been appointed to the positions named below:

  • Practice Education Course—Individual Life and Annuities liaison to the Society of Actuaries: David Stalker, effective July 1, 2013;
  • Co-chair of the Academic Subcommittee of the Committee on Continuing Education: Claudia Gagné, effective immediately;
  • The CIA’s representative external reviewers to the CERA Global Board: Yana Harris and Mariève Tétreault, effective immediately;
  • Vice-chair of the Eligibility Committee: Maxime-Frédéric Brochu-Leclair, retroactive to July 1, 2013;
  • Accreditation Actuary at the University of Toronto: Jingjing (Vicki) Zhang, effective immediately; and
  • Accreditation Actuary at Université Laval: Denis Latulippe, effective immediately.

The appointment of Michael Hale as the CIA’s CERA Treaty Board representative from November 2013 to November 2014 has been approved.

For information only:

Neville Henderson and Howard Lyons have resigned from the Academic Relations Committee, and leave with thanks. Mr. Lyons has also completed his term as the Accreditation Actuary at the University of Toronto.
Isabelle Larouche has completed her term as the Accreditation Actuary at Université Laval, and leaves with thanks.
Claire Bilodeau has completed her term as a member of the Continuing Education Committee, and leaves with thanks.

Member Services Council

The following people have been appointed to the groups named below:

  • Research Committee: Dave Dickson, chair, effective June 30, 2013;
  • Subcommittees of the Research Committee:
    • Individual Living Benefits Experience: Jill Buchanan, Michelle Baillargeon, and Maria Semak, effective May 10, 2013;
    • Individual Life Experience: Marie-Josée Blanchet, Rhys DeGrave, Blake Hill, and Lisa Zwicker, effective June 4, 2013;
    • Pension Experience: Bob Howard, effective July 2011, and Michael Banks, effective June 4, 2013; and
    • Segregated Fund Experience: Rohana Ambagaspitiya, Steve Bocking, Mary Fong, Jonathan Nadeau, Peter Snyder, Tommy Thomassin, and Maxime Turgeon-Rhéaume, effective immediately.
  • Group Insurance Committee: Jojy Oommen, vice-chair, effective June 10, 2013.
  • Committee on Volunteer Initiatives: Daisy Li, effective June 5, 2013.

For information only:

The following people have completed their mandates on the groups named below, and leave with thanks:

  • Research Committee: Marc-André Belzil, Chair, effective June 30, 2013.
  • Subcommittees of the Research Committee:
    • Individual Living Benefits Experience Subcommittee: Dominic Hains, Ian Jack, Alethea Lyn, and Charles Philbrook, effective May 10, 2013.
    • Individual Life Experience: Venessa Archibald, William Brath, Annie Girard, and Derek Houle, effective June 4, 2013. Jean-Pierre Cormier has resigned, effective February 28, 2013.
    • Pension Experience: Jean-Claude Ménard and Pierre Plamondon, effective June 4, 2013.
  • Editorial Committee: G. Brent Chambers, Faisal Siddiqi, Levente Tolnai, Raymond Tsang, and Eliza Wever, effective immediately.
  • Enterprise Risk Management Applications Committee: Sylvain Fortier and Altaf Rahim, effective immediately.

The creation of the Editorial Panel has been approved, along with its membership (Max Bazile, Stephen Cheng—ex officio, Brian Jenkins, Les Lohmann, Christopher McRae, Geoffrey Melbourne—Chair, Jean-François Poitras, Michael Promislow, Raymond Tsang, Nimmie Veerappen—Vice-chair, and Ai Lin Wong) and mandate:

The Editorial Panel will be responsible for oversight of all aspects of publishing the CIA electronic periodical, Seeing Beyond Risk. This will include, but will not be restricted to:

  • Establishing topics for the publication and authors;
  • Assembling a list of suitable business writers who can take on writing assignments;
  • Working with the CIA English Editor on topic refinement, review of manuscripts and approval of final documents; and
  • Review of feedback on the publication which could impact future issues.

Practice Council

Manuel Monteiro has been appointed Chair of the Committee on Pension Plan Financial Reporting, effective August 1, 2013.


Back to CIA (e)Bulletin/(e)Bulletin de l'ICA

Share Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn