October 2012 Past Issues | Advertise | www.cia-ica.ca
Return to main page

Board and Council Updates

Print Print this Article | Send to Colleague


The following people have been appointed to the councils named below:
  • PracticeMichel Giguère, effective July 1, 2012;
  • Member ServicesMarc Tardif, effective immediately; and
  • Eligibility and EducationClaude Ferguson, effective July 1, 2012.
The creation of a CIA Legal Services Provider Evaluation Task Force—to assist the Board in selecting the legal services vendor with the best combination of attributes, including price—has been approved, with the following members: Simon Curtis (Chair); Liam McFarlane (member—Committee on Professional Conduct); James E. (Jay) Jeffery (member—Actuarial Standards Board); Martin Roy (member—Board), treasurer; Joe Nunes (member—Board); Michel St. Germain (member—Board); and Michel Simard (ex officio).

The 2009 Pension Review Task Force has been disbanded with thanks from the Board

For information only:

Diane Gosselin has resigned from the Risk Management Committee.

Sylvie Charest’s term on the Member Services Council ends with the appointment of Marc Tardif.

The terms of Trevor Cartlidge and John Have on the Eligibility and Education Council were completed effective July 31, 2012.

Eligibility and Education Council

Amy Waldhauer has been appointed an observer member for the Casualty Actuarial Society on the Accreditation Committee, effective immediately.

The EEC has approved the membership of the Committee on Continuing Education and its subcommittees for 2012–2013, effective October 1, 2012, as follows:
  • Committee on Continuing Education: Lynn Grenier-Lew (Chair), Nathalie Bégin (Chair, Property and Casualty Insurance Subcommittee), Jeremy Bell (Chair, Group Life and Health Subcommittee), Claire Bilodeau, Patrick Chamberland (Chair, Investments Subcommittee), Ashley Goorachurn (Chair, Enterprise Risk Management Subcommittee), Dominic Hains (Chair, Reinsurance Subcommittee), Deborah McMillan (Chair, Pension Subcommittee), Ralph Ovsec (Chair, Individual Life and Health Insurance Subcommittee), Chris Fievoli, and Alicia Rollo.
  • Investments Subcommittee: Patrick Chamberland (Chair), Chris Brisebois, Tim Cavallin, Ross Dunlop, Eric Fontaine, Sunny Oh, Paul Tytarenko, and Tony Williams.
  • Enterprise Risk Management Subcommittee: Ashley Goorachurn (Chair), Jay Zhong, Hélène Baril, and Altaf Rahim.
  • Pension Subcommittee: Deborah McMillan (Chair), Stephen Cheng, Emily Tryssenaar, Tulio Walles Mora, and Heather Dee Wolfe.
  • Group Life and Health Subcommittee: Jeremy Bell (Chair), Isabelle Bouchard, Louise Lessard, and Edward Tsu-Jen Kuo.
The appointment of Michael Hale as the CIA’s CERA Treaty Board representative from November 2012 to November 2013, and Minaz Lalani as the CIA’s Global CERA Review Panel representative from November 2012 to November 2015, has been approved.

Member Services Council

The following people have been appointed to the bodies named below:

  • Research Committee—Dave Dickson, Vice-Chair, effective July 1, 2012; and Donald Blue, Candice Hung, and Claire Bilodeau, members, effective immediately.
  • Group Life and Health Experience Subcommittee of the Research Committee—Donald Blue and Candice Hung, Co-Chairs, effective immediately.
  • Annuitant Experience Subcommittee of the Research Committee—Lynn Allen, member, effective September 1, 2012.
  • Individual Life Experience Subcommittee of the Research Committee—Simon Bélanger, member, effective immediately.
  • Enterprise Risk Management Applications Committee (ERMAC)—Shannon Patershuk, Chair, effective May 1, 2012; Sim Segal (non-CIA member), Vice-Chair, effective immediately, on the understanding that Shannon Patershuk will recruit a second Vice-Chair; and Hélène Baril, Joseph Daniel DeDominicis, Frank Reynolds, Mark Struck, Ella Young (non-CIA member) and Jay Zhong, members, effective September 14, 2012.

The Task Force on Comprehensive Member Services Survey has been disbanded with thanks.

For Information Only:

Jean-Yves Rioux and Kathryn Hyland have completed their terms as Chair and member of the ERMAC, effective May 1 and July 1, 2012, respectively, and leave with the committee’s thanks. Martin Leroux and Jennie Kang have resigned from the committee, effective October1 and July 1, 2012, respectively.

Irawati Chen (non-CIA member) has resigned as a member of the Annuitant Experience Subcommittee of the Research Committee, effective immediately.

Michel Hébert has resigned from the Individual Life Experience Subcommittee of the Research Committee, effective immediately.

Please note that the committee liaisons are as follows:

  1. Committee on Volunteer Initiativesto be confirmed
  2. Op-Ed Teamto be confirmed
  3. Editorial CommitteeMarc Tardif
  4. Group Insurance CommitteeCathy Shum-Adams
  5. Pension Advisory CommitteeRobert Stapleford
  6. New Members CommitteeJulie Chambers
  7. Research CommitteeDave Dickson
  8. ERMACto be confirmed
  9. Communications CommitteeJason Alleyne.
Practice Council

The following people have been appointed to the committees named below:
  • Workers’ Compensation—Ryan Tse, Crispina Caballero, Jeff Turnbull, Lalina Lévesque, and Julie Bélanger.
  • Pension Plan Financial Reporting—Simon Nelson and Nilesh Patel.
  • Risk Management and Capital Requirements—Leonard Pressey (Vice-chair, Life).
  • Life Insurance Financial Reporting—Alexis Gerbeau (Chair) and Rebecca Rycroft (Vice-chair), both effective January 1, 2013.
For information only:

Marie-Eve Morency and Anne St-Martin have resigned from the Committee on Workers’ Compensation.

Michel Dionne will continue as Vice-chair (P&C) of the Committee on Risk Management and Capital Requirements.

The terms of Karen Hall and Kelly Aimers on the Committee on Post-Employment Benefit Plans have come to an end, and they leave with the committee’s thanks.


360 Albert Street, Suite 1740, Ottawa, ON K1R 7X7
Tel.: 613.236.8196 Fax: 613.233.4552