

To: Building Owners & Managers Association

From: Nellie deVries, deVries Strategies, Inc.

Date: December 5, 2017

Re: December Legislative Update

Since the end of the 2017 Legislative Session, nine lawmakers have either announced that they would not seek re-lection or have resigned. As a reminder, there are 60 house districts that serve two-year terms and 30 Senate seats that serve four-year terms.

Although every Legislative Session has turnover, these resignations mark a rather unusual amount of resignations given that they're taking place in the middle of the legislators' terms as opposed to during an election cycle.

Ann Lininger/Andrea Salinas (HD 38/Lake Oswego)

The first resignation occurred over the summer with Rep. Ann Lininger's (D-Lake Oswego) announcement that she would accept Governor Kate Brown's appointment to the Clackamas County Circuit Court bench. Rep. Lininger, a former Clackamas County commissioner, was appointed to the House in 2014 when then Representative Chris Garrett was named to a judgeship in the Oregon Court of Appeals.

In September, Multnomah and Clackamas county commissioners appointed Andrea Salinas, a lobbyist representing some of Oregon's powerful public employee unions.

Richard Devlin & Ted Ferrioli/Rob Wagner (SD 19/Tualatin) & Cliff Bentz (SD 30/John Day)

In October, Governor Brown announced appointments of Sen. Richard Devlin (D-Tualatin) and Senate Minority Leader Ted Ferrioli (R-John Day) to the Northwest Power Planning and Conservation Council. Each of the four Northwest states—Oregon, Washington, Montana and Idaho—nominates two members to the council. Members serve three-year terms, working for an organization that is neither state nor federal.

Robert Wagner is seeking appointment to Senator Devlin's seat. He is the associate vice-president for advancement at Portland Community College and a member of the Lake Oswego School Board. Rep. Cliff Bentz, an attorney in Ontario, Oregon, said he will seek an appointment to a state Senate seat soon to be vacated by Senate Minority Leader Ted Ferrioli.

John Huffman /Daniel Bonham (HD 59/The Dalles)

In November, President Trump appointed Representative John Huffman (R-The Dalles) to lead the Agriculture Department's rural development office in Oregon.

Daniel Bonham, owner of Maupin's Stoves & Spas in The Dalles, will be sworn in on February 1, 2018.

Mark Johnson/Jeff Helfrich (HD 42/Hood River)

On November 6, Mark Johnson retired from the Legislature to become the next president and chief executive officer of the Oregon Business & Industry. The Hood River Republican, who has served in the Legislature since 2011, is also chairman of the Hood River County School District Board and owns a construction business specializing in residential homebuilding.

OBI was created in July by the merger of the state's two major business associations, Associated Oregon Industries and Oregon Business Association. The combined group has 1,650 member companies, and Johnson will lead its efforts to "support public policy that promotes a healthy, prosperous and competitive Oregon."

On November 29, Jeff Helfrich was appointed to HD 52. He has more than 25 years in law enforcement. He has served on the Cascade Locks Planning Commission and City Council, the Mid-Columbia Economic Development District Board, in the Air Force during the Gulf War and as a Portland police sergeant.

Jodi Hack (HD 19/Salem)

Rep. Jodi Hack (R-Salem) intends to resign from the Legislature to take a job as chief executive of the Oregon Home Builders Association. She plans to resign December 31, to assume her new role January 1, 2018. A former grant writer, Hack has served in the Legislature since 2014.

Once Rep. Hack resigns, Marion County Commissioners will have 30 days to appoint her successor.

Knute Buehler (HD 54/Bend)

In addition to the six legislators who have resigned or plan to resign, three Republican Representatives announced that they would not seek reelection in the fall of 2018. In August, Rep. Knute Buehler, R-Bend, will not be able to seek another House term since he has declared his candidacy for governor.

Rep. Sal Esquivel, (HD 6/R-Medford), will not seek re-election. He has been in office since 2005.

Rep. Gene Whisnant (HD 53/R-Sunriver) also recently announced he would not seek reelection. He has been in office for 14 years and is ready to retire and spend time traveling with his wife.

Somewhat noteworthy in these changes, is that three of the moderate republicans that have resigned including John Huffman, Mark Johnson, and Knute Buehler are all in what are

known as swing districts. Currently, the House is one vote away from having a super majority, which means if the democrats pick up even one of these seats, they will have the ability pass tax measures (which require a 3/5 vote) without bipartisan support. Although the new appointees must be from the same party as the exiting legislator, the 2018 election cycle could mean significant changes in the House and the Senate.

In addition to the legislator resignations, **Paul Warner**, the Legislative Revenue Officer for the past 18 years retired on December 1, 2017. Prior to his time as LRO, Paul was the State Economist throughout the 1990s.

Chris Allanach, is now the Acting Legislative Revenue Officer. Chris was the senior economist at the Oregon State Legislature since 2006 and was the Senior Economist for the Oregon Department of Revenue from 1996-2006.

2018 will bring plenty of changes to the Oregon Legislative Body.