Public Power Daily
June 17, 2013: No. 24 Past Issues | Subscribe | Advertise | RSS | APPA Online Suppliers Guide
Public Power TV

APPA presents individual and utility awards at National Conference in Nashville

Print Print this article | Send to Colleague

APPA presents major awards to individuals and utilities that demonstrate leadership among public power utilities each year at its annual conference. The 2013 award winners receive their awards this week at the association’s 2013 National Conference in Nashville, Tenn.

Lonnie Carter
Lonnie Carter, president and CEO of Santee Cooper in Moncks Corner, S.C., is the recipient of APPA’s Alex Radin Distinguished Service Award, APPA’s highest award, which is bestowed in recognition of exceptional leadership and dedication to public power.

The James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award, recognizing people who have made substantial contributions to the electric utility industry, with a special commitment to public power, goes to three people: John DiStasio, general manager and CEO of the Sacramento Municipal Utility District in California, Sharon A. Staz, general manager and treasurer of the Kennebunk Light and Power District in Maine, and David R. Walters, general manager and CEO of the Michigan Public Power Agency in Lansing, Mich.

The Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award, recognizing service to APPA through substantial contributions toward association goals, goes to three people: Brent McKinney, manager of electric transmission and distribution for City Utilities of Springfield, Mo., Brad Spooner, manager of environmental affairs for MEAG Power in Atlanta, Ga., and Lynne Tejeda, general manager and CEO of Keys Energy Services in Key West, Fla.

The Alan H. Richardson Statesmanship Award, recognizing public power leaders who work successfully on APPA’s behalf forging consensus on national issues that achieve public power’s goals, goes to Jorge Carrasco, general manager and CEO of Seattle City Light in Washington.

Bill Conrad, mayor of Newberry, Fla., Paul Fisk, mayor of Lodi, Wis., and Dennis J. Walstra, mayor of Sioux Center, Iowa, are the winners of the Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award, which recognizes elected or appointed officials whose contributions to APPA and their communities have enhanced the prestige of public power nationally.

The Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award, recognizing managers who perform a variety of duties in communities of 2,500 or fewer electric meters, goes to eight managers of public power utilities. The recipients have demonstrated accomplishments in seven areas: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, human resources and community leadership. The eight people receiving the Seven Hats award this year are:
  • Robert Anderson, light commissioner for the Cozad Board of Public Works in Nebraska;
  • Hal Becker, general manager of Delano Municipal Utilities in Minnesota;
  • Allen Coyne, town manager of Julesburg, Colo.;
  • Pat Davison, public works director for the city of Imperial, Neb.;
  • Jim Gibney, general manager of Wahoo Utilities in Nebraska;
  • Kevin Gladden, village administrator for Genoa, Ohio;
  • Jim Mardis, town manager for Pittsboro, Ind.; and
  • Chuck Tibbetts, director of utilities for the Aitkin Public Utilities Commission in Minnesota.
The E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award, honoring APPA member systems that have enhanced the prestige of public power utilities through sustained achievement and customer service, goes to the Kirkwood Electric Department in Missouri.

The Community Service Award, recognizing utilities that are committed to participate in activities that improve the quality of life in their local areas, goes to four utilities. This year’s recipients are:
  • Fayetteville Public Works Commission in North Carolina;
  • Holland Board of Public Works in Michigan;
  • Hopkinsville Electric System in Kentucky; and
  • City Utilities of Springfield, Mo.
The Energy Innovator Award recognizes innovative programs from members of APPA’s Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED) program. This year, DEED is honoring three utilities:
  • Riverside Public Utilities in California for its In-Pipe Hydroelectric System project;
  • The city of Ocala, Fla., for its Pay As You Go prepaid metering program; and
  • Columbia Water & Light in Missouri for its successful deployment of the Department of Energy’s Home Performance with Energy Star program.
Full profiles of all the winners are in this month’s Public Power magazine.

Videos commemorating the awardees will be posted on Public Power TV later this week.


1875 Connecticut Ave., NW
Suite 1200
Washington, DC 20009-5715

Voice : 202/467-2900
Fax : 202/467-2910

Copyright © 2018, American Public Power Association